Why I Welcome 2013 with Hope –3 Reasons Gleaned from Psalm 65 (Part 3 of 3)

WHO GOD IS assures me of a new year that will demonstrate His goodness, power, and love.

WHAT GOD HAS DONE reminds me that nothing is impossible for those who trust and obey Him.

I WELCOME 2013 not only with hope, but also with happiness . . .

BECAUSE OF WHO I AM IN GOD’S EYES

father-and-child-holding-hands

 In Psalm 65 verse 4, David declares to the people of Israel this wonderful blessing:

“Blessed are those you choose and bring near to live in your courts! We are filled with the good things of your house . . . ” (New International Version).

“Blessed are the chosen, blessed the guest at home in your place. We expect our fill of good things in your house, your heavenly manse . . . “(The Message).

“What joy for those you choose to bring near . . . What festivities await us . . .” (New Living Translation).

Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) is the man whom You choose and cause to come near, that he may dwell in Your courts! We shall be satisfied with the goodness of Your house . . . “ (Amplified Bible).

With quiet confidence, I claim the same promise of blessing in Psalm 65:4  because God’s own Son, Jesus, counted me among His chosen.  Jesus said, “You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you so that you might go and bear fruit—fruit that will last—and so that whatever you ask in my name the Father will give you” (from The Gospel of John, chapter 15, verse 16).

Because I believe in Jesus and received Him to be my Saviour, I’ve been given the right to become a child of God. Wow, I am a child of God! It might sound audacious, but that’s what is written in His Word (see John 1:12).  And I’m sure God loves me because Jesus said,  “… the Father himself loves you because you have loved me and have believed that I came from God” (John 16, verse 27).

Like David and the people of Israel, I do expect my fill of good things under the care of my heavenly Father.  Those “good things” may not always be material blessings, but I know they will all be for my good.  I will delight in the nearness of God; I will rest in His presence. I will be satisfied in His loving kindness. And so, I welcome the new year  with hope and look forward to 365 days of God’s goodness and grace.

“For the LORD is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations” (Psalm 100: 5).

2 thoughts on “Why I Welcome 2013 with Hope –3 Reasons Gleaned from Psalm 65 (Part 3 of 3)

Leave a Reply

